2020 MWCA Annual Conference Winners

What a week January 14 – 16 was! It was freezing cold in Great Falls, but we had a lot of hot action taking place inside the Heritage Inn.
The Montana Dept of Transportation boys (with a little help from Nutrien) pulled off yet another win in the Olympiad. MT Dept of Agriculture folks did a great job hosting this event and we had four teams (more pix to come).

Then we had the MT Association of Counties gift card drawing and Connie Weston won that card (no picture).

The winner of the iPad and case sponsored by Corteva was the lucky Carol Bearden of MT Dept of Agriculture.









The winner of the Bayer-sponsored Chromebook and case was Patrick Mangan of Ravalli County Extension.

The winner of the instapot and attachments/cookbooks sponsored by Nutrien was Doug Bruha of Fallon County.

The winner of the annual conference gun card raffle was Charles Hueth from the Bureau of Reclamation. Thanks to everyone who played! We raised $1560 for the Association when it was all said and done.

Here are the winners of the 2019 MWCA awards:
Weed District of the Year was awarded to Sweet Grass County with Connie Weston.

The winner of the Weed Fighter of the Year was Shantell Frame-Martin of the Montana Noxious Weed Education Campaign.

The winner of the Barb Mullin Lifetime Achievement Award was Terry Turner of Hill County.


And the presidential award from 2019 President, Dale Butori, went to fellow coordinator and bordering pal Jesse Scott of Carter County Weed District.

Several Montana Weed Coordinators received year’s of service honors: From the left standing, Joe Lockwood with Yellowstone County, Jesse Scott with Carter County, Travis Lacquement with Prairie County, Margie Edsall with Madison County, Jim Ghekiere with Liberty County and Jed Fisher with Flathead County. Kneeling from the left: Pam Converse with Pondera County, Karen Laitala with Powell County and Stone Tihista with Valley County.

Of course there were many winners of the luncheon banquet sponsored awards 🙂